We have some great legal guides ready for download
Select your download, it's free and full of information
Need expert legal advice? Call us on 01438 840 258
to discuss

buying a property in UAE

Buying Property in United Arab Emirates (UAE)

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

The United Arab Emirates was established in 1971 and is made up of 7 emirates, which are similar to principalities. The seven emirates are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras Al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain. Abu Dhabi is the largest emirate and is the second most populous whereas Dubai has the largest population and is the second largest in area.

The property market in the UAE is relatively new and the majority of purchasers have been buying new properties off plan. Buyers tend to buy properties purely as an investment rather than to use for their own use as a holiday or retirement home.

There has been delays with the construction of some properties in UAE and as such there is a demand for assistance in relation to the recovery of failed property investment.

Arabic is the official language of the UAE although English is widely spoken and most purchase contracts are now dual English and Arabic. Arabic is a new requirement of the Dubai Land Department. The law in the UAE is based on Sharia law although there is a mix of Islamic and European concepts and similarities with the Egyptian legal code. Each of the individual emirates does things slightly differently as far as the legal system is concerned, with each having their own courts and judicial frameworks.

01438 840 258