What Is the Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area is made up of 26 European countries, including 22 EU member states, plus Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, and Romania. The UK and Ireland, although within the EU, are not part of the Schengen Area.

The idea is that between these countries there is no requirement to show your passport or have border controls at their common borders (although you may be required to show some proof of identity in order to board a plane).

Which countries are in the Schengen area?

The Schengen Area countries are currently;

  • Austria
  • Liechtenstein
  • Belgium
  • Lithuania
  • Czech Republic
  • Luxemburg
  • Denmark
  • Malta
  • Estonia
  • Netherlands
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • France
  • Poland
  • Germany
  • Portugal
  • Greece
  • Slovakia
  • Hungary
  • Slovenia
  • Iceland
  • Spain
  • Italy
  • Sweden
  • Latvia
  • Switzerland

Need help buying property within the Schengen area?

Our UK-based team of property lawyers are highly experienced in helping clients to buy and sell property abroad, including throughout the Schengen area. We can also provide advice on various related issues, such as Wills, inheritance and tax residence.

With a thorough understanding of UK law and the laws of various other jurisdictions within the Schengen area, we can provide clear, reliable legal guidance in plain English, giving you the confidence to deal effectively with throughout the region.

Call: 01438 382 064                                    Email: admin@judicaregroup.com